Living in Dorset

Dorset Council provides community services based on the principles of quality, equity, value and responsiveness.

Visiting Dorset

Dorset has a unique blend of wilderness, wildlife, stunning scenery, mining heritage, secluded beaches and world class golf courses.

Contact us

  • Phone (03) 6352 6500
  • Fax (03) 6352 6509
  • After hrs 1300 858 824

Business community in Dorset

Dorset Council is focused on providing support to potential investors to facilitate sustainable developments large and small.

Looking for something specific? Try a search.

Mayor & Councillors

Councillors are elected by persons eligible to vote in Dorset and are representatives for the whole community. The next Local Government Election will be held in 2022.

 Jerrod Nichols, Jan Hughes, Murray Lade, Leonie Stein, Mervyn Chilcott, Edwina Powell, Dale Jessup, Greg Howard, Wendy McLennan

2018-2022 Council

Rear | Cr Jerrod Nichols, Cr Jan Hughes, Cr Murray Lade, Cr Leonie Stein, Cr Mervyn Chilcott

Front | Cr Edwina Powell, Deputy Mayor Dale Jessup, Mayor Greg Howard, Cr Wendy McLennan

Code of Conduct

Please find below the Dorset Council Councillor Code of Conduct, the Complaint Lodgement Form and an Information Sheet for Complainants.  The Councillor Code of Conduct was amended and adopted by Council on 15 April 2019.  The cost of a code of conduct complaint for the 2021/22 financial year is $82.50. 

Dorset Council Councillor Code of Conduct

Local Government Councillor Code of Conduct Complaint Lodgement Form (Fillable PDF)

Local Government Code of Conduct - Information for Complainants Information Sheet - July 2019

All Code of Conduct Complaints lodged must meet the requirements listed in Section 28V of the Local Government Act 1993.  More information on the Local Government Code of Conduct for Tasmanian Councillors can be found on the Local Government Division website here

Councillor Gifts and Donations Register

As of 1 August 2018, the Local Government Act 1993 requires Council to keep a register of gifts and donations received by Councillors.  Gifts and donations to be reported include any of the following with a value of $50 or more:

  • an item;
  • a service;
  • a loan of money;
  • a loan of property; or
  • any other benefit

This includes a series of gifts or donations received by the same Councillor from the same donor where the total value in a financial year is $50 or more.  EG: a $10 lunch bought for a Councillor each week over a period of time.  Dorset Council's Councillor Register was last updated in October 2020 and is reviewed monthly (correct as at 1 October 2021).  The current Register can be viewed below:

Councillor Gifts and Donations Register